In order to become licensed as a peace officer or county jailer in Texas there are three requirements:
Texas Telecommunicators are not licensed; however an agency may choose to report the appointment to the Commission. Each agency will determine the entry standards. If an agency reports the telecommunmicators appointment to the Commission, then the agency must comply with Texas Occupations Code §1701.405 which states that they maynot appoint or employ a person to act as a telecommunicator unless the person has had at least 40 hours of telecommunicator training as determined by the commission.
This section does not apply to a person who performs the duties a telecommunicator; and is employed by a law enforcement agency that employs 20 or fewer employees or does not perform law enforcement services on a 24-hour basis.
Notwithstanding this section, a person may be appointed or serve as a telecommunicator on a temporary or probationary basis or may perform the duties of a telecommunicator in an emergency. A person appointed on a temporary or probationary basis after September 1, 1987, who does not satisfactorily complete an accredited telecommunicator training program before the first anniversary of the date the person is originally appointed shall be removed from the position.
The Texas Commission on Law Enforcement Officer Standards and Education (TCLEOSE) welcomes law enforcement officers from other areas considering a career move to Texas. Please review the “Out of State/Federal Application” carefully.