Texas Commission on Law Enforcement Officer Standards and Education Logo

Getting a License if you are an out of state peace officer

The Texas Commission on Law Enforcement Officer Standards and Education (TCLEOSE) welcomes law enforcement officers from other areas considering a career move to Texas.  Please review the "Out of State/Federal Application" carefully.

You must meet ALL of the work and training requirements (see chart below), and must meet all qualifications on the eligibility form that is located on our website under FORMS AND APPLICATIONS and is also attached here:

Please contact our staff for any questions or clarification regarding the documentation that must be submitted.  Do not make assumptions you will be accepted until your application has been approved.


Work and Basic Training Requirements

Work History
The applicant must be currently licensed/certified and have honorably served (employed benefits eligible) as a sworn FULL TIME peace officer for 2 consecutive years in the 4 years prior to making application.

Training Requirements
TCLEOSE uses the number of hours in our basic peace officer training course to determine the minimum amount of hours for equivalency.  The chart below identifies the hourly requirements. Also see the following document:



Texas Hours

Minimum Hours

9/01/1970 – 12/31/1972



1/01/1973 – 12/31/1980



1/01/1981 – 8/31/1985



9/01/1985 – 8/31/1994



9/01/1994 -12/31/2001



1/01/2002 – 12/31/2004



1/01/2005 - current




Before individuals with federal credentials or out-of-state license(s) may attempt the licensing exam, they must meet all of the statutory licensing requirements of the State of Texas and the rules of the Commission

U.S. citizenship is a requirement to be licensed as a peace officer in Texas.  (Commission Rule (§217.1(a)(18))

All applicants will be subject to a search through the National Decertification Database (NDD), NCIC/TCIC, and National Criminal History Databases to establish eligibility.

Qualifying Federal Departments:

The Texas Code of Criminal Procedure, § 2.122, recognizes specific criminal investigators of the United States as having authority to enforce selected state laws by virtue of their authority.  Prior training will be evaluated and approved by the Commission to insure it meets current training requirements.

  1. Special Agents of the Federal Bureau of Investigation;
  2. Special Agents of the Secret Service;
  3. Special Agents of the United States Immigration and Customs Enforcement;
  4. Special Agents of Alcohol, Tobacco, and Firearms;
  5. Special Agents of the Federal Drug Enforcement Agency;
  6. Inspectors of the United States Postal Service;
  7. Special Agents of the Criminal Investigation Division and Inspectors of the Internal Security Division of the Internal Revenue Service;
  8. Civilian Special Agents of the United States Naval Investigative Service;
  9. Marshals and Deputy Marshals of the United States Marshals Service;
  10. Special Agents of the United States Citizenship and Immigration Services;
  11. Special Agents of the United States Department of State, Bureau of Diplomatic Security
  12. A person designated as a Special Policeman by the Federal Protective Service of the General Services Administration under 40 U.S.C. Section 318 or 318d;
  13. A Customs and Border Protection Officer of the United States Customs and Border Protection or a Border Patrol agent, immigration enforcement agent, or deportation officer of the Department of Homeland Security;
  14. A commissioned law enforcement officer of the National Parks Service;
  15. A Special Agent or Law Enforcement Officer of the United States Forest Service; and
  16. Security personnel working at a commercial nuclear power plant, including contract security personnel, trained and qualified under a security plan approved by the United States Nuclear Regulatory Commission.

If you have any questions, please call (512) 936-7700.